Department of Justice

Department of Justice is a part of Ministry of Law & Justice as per the Allocation of Business Rules of Government of India.

It is one of the oldest Departments of Govt. of India and was under the administrative control of the Ministry of Home Affairs. Union Home Secretary has been the Secretary of Department of Justice till 31st December 2009.

Keeping in view the increasing workload and formulating many policies and programmes for Judicial Reforms in the country, Secretary (Justice) was appointed on 1st January, 2010 in the Ministry of Law & Justice. The Organisational setup includes four Joint Secretaries, six Directors/Deputy Secretaries and seven Under Secretaries.

The functions of the Department of Justice include the appointment, resignation and removal of the Chief Justice of India, Judges of the Supreme Court of India, Chief Justices and Judges of the High Courts and their service matters. In addition, The Department implements important schemes for Infrastructure Development of Subordinate Judiciary, the E-court Project on computerization of various courts across the country, Legal Aid to Poor and Access to Justice.