Tele-Law in ASPIRATIONAL Districts

Tele-Law Programme

About Expansion of Tele-Law Programme in 115 Aspirational Districts

Based on the wide response garnered in the pilot states and the urgency for the common man to receive legal advice as first step towards access to justice, Tele-Law is one of the key programme of Department of Justice that has also been flagged as a part of 100 days programme of the newly constituted Government of India. In continuation, it is now aimed to expand the Tele-Law programme to the 115 Aspirational Districts across 28 states that are earmarked as pockets of under-development. These 115 Districts have been described as Aspirational rather than backward so that they are viewed as islands of hope and opportunity rather than areas of distress and hopelessness. The Aspirational Districts programme are being measured on the indices of education, health and nutrition, agriculture and water resources, financial inclusion, basic infrastructure and skills.

Aspiring to fulfil the Government commitment of Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikaash, Sabka Vishwas there is a need to amalgamate “Sabka Nyaya” as a fourth pillar to empowerment and development in the country. In this regard Department of Justice could act as a force multiplier on the desired outcomes in these Aspirational districts. Working towards strengthening free legal aid in India, the Tele-Law programme would cover 28,060 CSCs in 115 Aspirational Districts across 28 States in cooperation with National Legal Service Authority (NALSA), State / District Legal Service Authority and CSC e- Governance Service Limited. To ensure that this service is effectively used 28060, Tele-Law Para legal volunteers from within the communities would be engaged to act as bridge to connect the beneficiary with the Panel Lawyer.


State Name No. of districts (Drill down with name) No. of CSCs
Andhra Pradesh Visakhapatanam 675
Andhra Pradesh Vizianagaram 294
Andhra Pradesh Y.S.R. 416
Arunachal Pradesh Namsai 13
Assam Baksa 110
Assam Barpeta 129
Assam Darrang 64
Assam Dhubri 111
Assam Goalpara 81
Assam Hailakandi 62
Assam Udalguri 108
Bihar Araria 218
Bihar Aurangabad 205
Bihar Banka 185
Bihar Begusarai 220
Bihar Gaya 332
Bihar Jamui 153
Bihar Katihar 237
Bihar Khagaria 129
Bihar Muzaffarpur 290
Bihar Nawada 184
Bihar Purnia 244
Bihar Sheikhpura 54
Bihar Sitamarhi 273
Chhattisgarh Bastar 185
Chhattisgarh Bijapur 16
Chhattisgarh Dantewada 78
Chhattisgarh Kanker 302
Chhattisgarh Kondagaon 71
Chhattisgarh Korba 390
Chhattisgarh Mahasamund 536
Chhattisgarh Narayanpur 44
Chhattisgarh Rajnandgaon 797
Chhattisgarh Sukma 3
Gujarat Dohad 401
Gujarat Narmada 114
Haryana Mewat 317
Himachal Pradesh Chamba 251
Jammu & Kashmir Baramulla 183
Jammu & Kashmir Kupwara 145
Jharkhand Bokaro 249
Jharkhand Chatra 154
Jharkhand Dumka 206
Jharkhand Garhwa 189
Jharkhand Giridih 361
Jharkhand Godda 201
Jharkhand Gumla 159
Jharkhand Hazaribagh 258
Jharkhand Khunti 86
Jharkhand Latehar 115
Jharkhand Lohardaga 66
Jharkhand Pakur 128
Jharkhand Palamu 283
Jharkhand Paschim Singhbhum 217
Jharkhand Purbi Singhbhum 231
Jharkhand Ramgarh 125
Jharkhand Ranchi 305
Jharkhand Sahebganj 166
Jharkhand Simdega 94
Karnataka Raichur 180
Karnataka Yadgir 96
Kerala Wayanad 23
Madhya Pradesh Barwani 241
Madhya Pradesh Chhatarpur 558
Madhya Pradesh Damoh 460
Madhya Pradesh Guna 370
Madhya Pradesh Khandwa 389
Madhya Pradesh Rajgarh 547
Madhya Pradesh Singrauli 316
Madhya Pradesh Vidisha 489
Maharashtra Gadchiroli 364
Maharashtra Osmanabad 426
Maharashtra Washim 491
Maharashtra Nandurbar 394
Manipur Chandel 22
Meghalaya Ri-bhoi 54
Mizoram Mamit 30
Nagaland Kiphire 10
Odisha Rayagada 142
Odisha Kalahandi 240
Odisha Kandhamal 97
Odisha Gajapati 153
Odisha Dhenkanal 190
Odisha Balangir 288
Odisha Koraput 175
Odisha Malkangiri 33
Punjab Firozepur 501
Punjab Moga 327
Rajasthan Baran 221
Rajasthan Dholpur 171
Rajasthan Jaisalmer 119
Rajasthan Karauli 186
Rajasthan Sirohi 74
Sikkim West Sikkim 10
Tamil Nadu Ramanathapuram 227
Tamil Nadu Virudhunagar 266
Telangana adilabad 243
Telangana Khammam 372
Telangana Warangal 374
Tripura Dhalai 85
Uttar Pradesh Bahraich 726
Uttar Pradesh balrampur 602
Uttar Pradesh Chandauli 445
Uttar Pradesh Chitrakoot 335
Uttar Pradesh Fatehpur 434
Uttar Pradesh Shravasti 388
Uttar Pradesh Siddharth nagar 1030
Uttar Pradesh Sonbhadra 580
Uttrakhand Haridwar 308
Uttrakhand UdhamSingh Nagar 265
West Bengal Murshidabad 250
West Bengal Maldah 133
West Bengal Birbhum 167
West Bengal Nadia 165
West Bengal Dakshin Dinajpur 65
TOTAL 28060